top of page

Face Mask Fail!

So recently everyone has seen the charcoal face masks going around and of course there’s more high end masks and ones for those with a lower budget on websites like eBay and Amazon. I was lucky enough to get the PIL’ATEN blackhead remover black mask for Christmas off a family member and I have FINALLY tried it out!

Okay, so I googled ‘PIL’ATEN face mask’ and it took me to a link on amazon turns out that this face mask retails for £3.95 which I think is reasonably priced. It also has a product description saying that this mask will;

  • Clean out dirt and cuticles effectively on the face.

  • It will help to remove stain or oil spots on your face with daily use. -stain? okay…

  • Improve the blood circulation in your face.

  • Helps to keep your face smoother and tender. -TENDER?

I was okay reading the product description until it said my face would feel tender, I don’t want my face to feel sore! I don’t know if they meant to write firmer or something but none the less I was still going to try it out.

Packaging

The packaging is basic it is black and white with some silver embossed text. Most of the text is in Chinese so I couldn’t really get much information off of the packaging and online I can’t find much information either except for what I have added above which was found on amazon.

Trying The PIL’ATEN Face Mask

I had been wearing makeup all day so I used my Garnier Micellar Cleaning Water to remove my makeup.

Note: My skin has been really bumpy and dull so I want to see how much it improves after the face mask and if there was any improvement at all.

I applied the mask with my fingers and automatically noticed that is was extremely thick, almost slimy, it didn’t have a scent which I don’t mind but would have been nice if it was scented. It took me about 2-3 minutes to apply a thick layer all over my face but it went really patchy very quickly. It left little circle patches which I found quite strange.

Once I had applied it to my face I went to wash the excess off my finger… but it didn’t wash off…I had to scrape the excess off my finger so that shows how thick of a mask it was. After 10 minutes I had some tingling on my nose it wasn’t anything major and passed quickly. After 30 minutes there was slight tackiness in some areas but it was 95% dry.

Taking off the mask was a whole other story… So I think it took me 5 minutes to take the mask off and it was horrendous. It felt like someone had stuck a plaster on my face and was slowly ripping it off, the only thing that helped was pulling my skin in the opposite direction to make the removal quicker.

After taking the face mask off my face had some redness which I was expecting when I was trying to get the mask off. However, it did remove a lot of dirt and blackheads and my face did look brighter when the redness had gone. Also all of the bumps (apart from my spots) had completely gone.

Final Thoughts

If you want a cheap charcoal black head mask to try and you are prepared to wait almost 40 minutes for it to dry and can deal with the tenderness when taking it off this mask is for you. I mean it did take a lot of dirt off of my face and it does feel a lot smoother but personally I would like something that wasn’t as tender when taking it off and that dried a lot quicker. I will now be looking at a mid-priced charcoal face mask to try and I hopefully have a better experience!

Thank you so much for reading, Courts x


bottom of page